No Competition for Quiksilver and Roxy Pro Today, Surfers Ready for Big Finish

SNAPPER ROCKS, Queensland/Australia (Friday, March 4, 2011) – Competition has been called off for today for the Quiksilver and Roxy Pro Gold Coast presented by Land Rover with no contestable surf on offer at the primary venue of Snapper Rocks or the secondary venue of Duranbah.

The opening event of the 2011 ASP World Title season, the Quiksilver and Roxy Pro Gold Coast will endure its sixth consecutive lay day today, but with a solid swell approaching in the next 48 hours, surfers and event organizers are exited with the possibility of finishing in excellent conditions.

“As projected, the surf has dropped again today and we’ve called competition off,” Rich Porta, ASP Head Judge, said. “The models continue to look positive for a solid swell arriving in the next day and a half and maintaining through the finish of the waiting period so we’re hopeful that this actually materializes and we get to finish in some solid surf.”

Event organizers will reconvene tomorrow morning at 6:30am to assess conditions for a possible 7:30am start.

When competition resumes, up first will be Bede Durbidge (AUS), 28, up against wildcard Matt Banting (AUS), 16, in the opening men’s heat of Round 2 and Rebecca Woods (AUS), 26, battling Courtney Conlogue (AUS), 18, in the opening women’s heat of Round 2.

Highlights from the Quiksilver Pro Gold Coast will be available via

The event will also be broadcast LIVE on free-to-air with One HD.

For more information, log onto


Heat 1:
 Bede Durbidge (AUS) vs. Matt Banting (AUS)

Heat 2: Adrian Buchan (AUS) vs. Mitch Crews (AUS)

Heat 3: Adriano de Souza (BRA) vs. Marc Lacomare (FRA)

Heat 4: Michel Bourez (PYF) vs. Raoni Monteiro (BRA)

Heat 5: Chris Davidson (AUS) vs. Cory Lopez (USA)

Heat 6: Jadson Andre (BRA) vs. Gabe Kling (USA)

Heat 7: Damien Hobgood (USA) vs. Dusty Payne (HAW)

Heat 8: Kieren Perrow (AUS) vs. Alejo Muniz (BRA)

Heat 9: C.J. Hobgood (USA) vs. Kai Otton (AUS)

Heat 10: Brett Simpson (USA) vs. Patrick Gudauskas (USA)

Heat 11: Taylor Knox (USA) vs. Fredrick Patacchia (HAW)

Heat 12: Heitor Alves (BRA) vs. Bobby Martinez (USA)


Heat 1:
 Rebecca Woods (AUS) vs. Courtney Conlogue (USA)

Heat 2: Paige Hareb (NZL) vs. Pauline Ado (FRA)

Heat 3:
 Stephanie Gilmore (AUS) vs. Sarah Mason (NZL)

Heat 4: Sofia Mulanovich (PER) vs. Claire Bevilacqua (AUS)

Heat 5: Chelsea Hedges (AUS) vs. Alana Blanchard (HAW)

Heat 6: Jessi Miley-Dyer (AUS) vs. Laura Enever (AUS)