Billabong Rio Pro is on HOLD, Next Call at 10am

BARRA DA TAJUCA, Rio De Janeiro/ Brazil (Wednesday, May 11, 2011) – The opening day of the Billabong Rio Pro, stop No. 3 of 11 on the men’s ASP World Tour, is currently ON HOLD until 10am local time. Although six-to-eight foot (2 metre) waves are hitting the main event site of Barra Da Tajuca, event organizers are waiting for improved conditions to begin men’s Round 1.

“We’ve got solid waves on offer for the opening day of the waiting period, but not the best conditions with the current tide,” Pritamo Ahrendt, ASP International Head Judge said. “We’ll be monitoring conditions over the next few hours and will make another call at 10am.”

The first heat of Billabong Rio Pro competition will see 2010 ASP Rookie of the year Owen Wright (AUS), 21, take on Heitor Alves (BRA), 29, and Bobby Martinez (USA), 29.

Running in conjunction with the Billabong Rio Pro is stop No. 5 of 7 on the ASP Women’s World Tour. The ASP Top 17 waiting period begins tomorrow, May 12 and runs through May 16.

The men’s Billabong Rio Pro holds a waiting period from May 11 through 22 and is webcast LIVE via

For additional ASP information log on to


Heat 1:
 Owen Wright (AUS), Heitor Alves (BRA), Bobby Martinez (USA)

Heat 2: Adrian Buchan (AUS), Adam Melling (AUS), Kai Otton (AUS)

Heat 3: Taj Burrow (AUS), Alejo Muniz (BRA), TBA

Heat 4: Mick Fanning (AUS), Dusty Payne (HAW), TBA

Heat 5: Jordy Smith (ZAF), Patrick Gudauskas (USA), TBA

Heat 6: Kelly Slater (USA), Julian Wilson (AUS), TBA

Heat 7: Bede Durbidge (AUS), Jadson Andre (BRA), Gabe Kling (USA)

Heat 8: Jeremy Flores (FRA), C.J. Hobgood (USA), Josh Kerr (AUS)

Heat 9: Damien Hobgood (USA), Tiago Pires (PRT), Raoni Monteiro (BRA)

Heat 10: Michel Bourez (PYF), Chris Davidson (AUS), Cory Lopez (USA)

Heat 11: Adriano de Souza (BRA), Kieren Perrow (AUS), Daniel Ross (AUS)

Heat 12: Joel Parkinson (AUS), Matt Wilkinson (AUS), Taylor Knox (USA)


Heat 1:
 Tyler Wright (AUS), Courtney Conlogue (BRA), Claire Bevilacqua (AUS)

Heat 2: Silvana Lima (BRA), Paige Hareb (NZL), Felicity Palmateer (AUS)

Heat 3: Carissa Moore (HAW), Jessi Miley-Dyer (AUS), Maya Gabeira (BRA)

Heat 4: Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS), Laura Enever (AUS), Andrea Lopes (BRA)

Heat 5: Stepahnie Gilmore (AUS), Pauline Ado (FRA), Suelen Naraisa (BRA)

Heat 6: Coco Ho (HAW), Sofia Mulanovich (PER), Alana Blanchard (HAW)