Rip Curl Pro Bells Beach

BELLS BEACH, Victoria/Australia (Friday, April 22, 2011) – Bells Beach is boasting crisp three-to-five feet (1 – 1.5 metre) waves in the Bowl this morning and Round 3 of the Rip Curl Pro Bells Beach presented by Ford Ranger has been called on, commencing at 7:30am.

The second stop on the 2011 ASP World Title season, the Rip Curl Pro Bells Beach has already bore witness to two exciting rounds of competition, the first in the Bowl and the second at nearby Winkipop, and with another day of stellar surf upon us, the world’s best surfers will once again take to the lineup to battle for points, prize money and the ever-coveted ASP World Title.

“We still have good clean surf on offer this morning and we’ll have the men’s Round 3 out there to kick things off at 7:30am,” Rich Porta, ASP International Head Judge, said. “We have the women’s Round 3 and the men’s Round 4 on standby for after that, and we’ll monitor conditions throughout the day to make a decision a little later on. Good luck to all our competitors.”

Up first this morning will be Owen Wright (AUS), 21, up against Gabe Kling (USA), 30, in the opening heat of Round 3.

The Rip Curl Pro Bells Beach presented by FORD will be webcast LIVE via and broadcast live on Fuel TV in Australia and ESPN in Brazil.

When women’s competition resumes, up first will be Silvana Lima (BRA), 26, Chelsea Hedges (AUS), 27, and Melanie Bartels (HAW), 28, in the opening heat of Round 3.

Event organizers will reconvene tomorrow morning at 7am to assess conditions for a possible 7:30am start.

For more information, log onto


Heat 1: 
Owen Wright (AUS) vs. Gabe Kling (USA)

Heat 2: Adriano de Souza (BRA) vs. Adam Melling (AUS)

Heat 3: Jeremy Flores (FRA) vs. Joel Parkinson (AUS)

Heat 4: Bede Durbidge (AUS) vs. Heitor Alves (BRA)

Heat 5: C.J. Hobgood (USA) vs. Matt Wilkinson (AUS)

Heat 6: Kelly Slater (USA) vs. Stu Kennedy (AUS)

Heat 7: Jordy Smith (ZAF) vs. Bobby Martinez (USA)

Heat 8: Chris Davidson (AUS) vs. Kieren Perrow (AUS)

Heat 9: Damien Hobgood (USA) vs. Tiago Pires (PRT)

Heat 10: Michel Bourez (PYF) vs. Patrick Gudauskas (USA)

Heat 11: Jadson Andre (BRA) vs. Alejo Muniz (BRA)

Heat 12: Mick Fanning (AUS) vs. Josh Kerr (AUS)


Heat 1: 
Silvana Lima (BRA), Chelsea Hedges (AUS), Melanie Bartels (HAW)

Heat 2: Carissa Moore (HAW), Sofia Mulanovich (PER), Courtney Conlogue (USA)

Heat 3: Stephanie Gilmore (AUS), Tyler Wright (AUS), Pauline Ado (FRA)

Heat 4: Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS), Coco Ho (HAW), Jessi Miley-Dyer (AUS)

Want to know when your favourite surfers are in the water at the 2011 Rip Curl Pro Bells Beach presented by FORD?

Here’s how it’s done:

1. Click HERE to go to Heat Alerts

2. Choose the surfers you’d like to follow.

3. Boom! An email will be sent to you 25 minutes before each of your favourite surfers’ heats begin.